About Rome

Seven hills of Rome

The old story goes that the city of Rome was built on seven hills. The heights are all located on the east side of the river Tiber and have always been very important places of the city and it is on these hills was the life of Roman citizens. These are the seven hills of Rome.

Aventine Hill
It was one of the most popular districts of the city where he lived the mob, characterized by thick and lush gardens, in time became a religious symbol for the city, it is here that were built the temple of Diana and Minerva.

Palatine Hill
The heart of the city of Rome is from here that the city and witness the Roman Forum. This hill was chosen by the most important emperors of the city to build their sumptuous residences.


Capitoline Hill
The district, home to the administrative life of the city, initially was characterized by temples dedicated to the gods, but in the Middle Ages was restored by Michelangelo.


Caelian Hill
The highest point in Rome, one side was characterized by lavish Roman villas and the other from the barracks. AI time was covered by green forests of oak.

Esquiline Hill
Widely regarded as the biggest hill of Rome divided into two main areas: the Rione Monti and the Esquiline, important because the area includes two of the four papal basilicas of Rome.

Today is the symbol of political life of the city and was one of the points that was the birthplace of Rome.

The last of the seven hills because it is the smallest in size and his name is linked to the expanses of plants wicker that once populated the area.